Pencil Drawing #1: Ezio Auditore


para postagem pronto 5.5

This is an old drawing from 2013. I consider it my first serious pencil drawing.

I was on college vacation and playing a lot of the Assassin’s Creed games. Among all the Assassins, Ezio is by far my favourite and among all of the AC games, AC II is my favourite as well.

I had no idea how to start, I just knew I NEEDED to draw him. I knew nothing about lighting, shadows soft/hard trace (you can clearly see that I knew nothing haha), I just knew how to draw shapes and was immensely inspired. As the drawing progressed, I grew very unsatisfied with it, started procrastinating, lost my patience and when I had to finish the pants, I just did it all black so I wouldn’t have to deal with it.

Today I look at it with more empathy, I think I was putting so much pressure on myself for the first “official” pencil drawing. I already had far better skills than most people but I was playing hard.

If there’s something very serious about myself that I’m fighting against, it’s to take easy on perfectionism. If something isn’t becoming what I planned to, I start to procrastinate so I don’t have to deal with unsatisfaction. I wish I could “just do it”, not worry too much and act faster (not to mention stress, it’s part of the perfectionism pack).

Vetor separador de texto 2

Esse é um desenho velho, de 2013. Considero-o como meu primeiro desenho “sério” a lápis.

Estava de férias de faculdade e jogando muito Assassin’s Creed. Dentre todos os assassinos, Ezio é, de longe, meu favorito e dentre todos os jogos AC, o AC II é, também, meu favorito.

Eu não fazia ideia de como começar, eu só sabia que PRECISAVA desenhá-lo. Eu não sabia nada sobre iluminação, sombras, traços suaves/duros (dá pra ver claramente que eu não sabia de nada haha). Eu só sabia desenhar formas e estava imensamente inspirada. Conforme o desenho progrediu, fiquei insatisfeita, comecei a procrastinar, perdi a paciência e quando tive que terminar a calça, só pintei ela inteirinha de preto pra não ter que lidar com o trabalho.

Hoje olho para este desenho com mais empatia, acho que estava colocando muita pressão sobre mim mesma para o que era meu primeiro desenho “oficial” a lápis. Eu já tinha uma noção melhor noção de desenho do que a maioria das pessoas, mas estava jogando pra valer.

Se existe uma coisa muito séria sobre mim que eu luto contra, é pra pegar leve com o perfeccionismo. Se alguma coisa não está ficando como planejado, começo a procrastinar para não ter de lidar com a insatisfação. Queria muito ser do tipo que “vai lá e faz”, sem se preocupar muito e trabalhar com mais agilidade (sem falar do stress. Faz parte do pacote perfeccionista). 

para postagem pronto 2.2

para postagem pronto 4.4

para postagem pronto 1.1

Say something

